Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 27 Likes Search this Thread
06-30-2019, 10:41 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Is there a bad Pentax camera?

I was considering a personal review/thoughts of my first year with a K-70. A shortcoming would be I have no experience with any other DSLR. This in turn led to my question. Are there any Pentax models in production or recently discontinued that are, to be kind, less than adequate? If so, a short explanation. Please, no battles!

06-30-2019, 10:51 AM - 3 Likes   #2

Photos: Gallery
I can't say that there are any recent models that are "bad" but honestly most modern ILCs are incredible pieces of technology that are vastly more powerful than 99% of users even need. Even back in the K100D era the amount of tech you were getting in an entry level camera was insane.

Beyond that, what you consider adequate depends on your needs. The world is full of people with $4000 plus rigs who take perfectly OK pictures and seem to think that it would be impossible on a lesser device.
06-30-2019, 11:21 AM - 2 Likes   #3
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

There are models that have had technical problems - specifically, the K-30 and K-50, with solenoid failure in the aperture control mechanism. This seems to have affected some K-S1 and K-S2 models also, but on a much more limited basis. But none of these were "bad" cameras... They just suffered from a poor quality component. In fact, that issue aside, these were and still are very good cameras.
06-30-2019, 11:35 AM - 1 Like   #4
Pentaxian