Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 31 Likes Search this Thread
07-24-2019, 06:27 PM   #1

Questions about the k70

Hello, so recently i've been looking to make an upgrade on my gear. i started with a k100d and after almost 2 years i think its time.
I found the k70 body new at 499 euro. I dont know much about other cameras and from the reviews some are dated and others
not that informative. is it a good price for the body? is k70 a good upgrade?
A friend suggested i look into the k-3ii used but im not really good with the used marketplace.

07-24-2019, 07:00 PM - 1 Like   #2

Photos: Gallery
K70 is a massive upgrade in every way from the K100d. You'll love it. That said the marketplace here on the site is a very friendly place to buy.

The K3 is a beast but bigger and heavier so be aware.
07-24-2019, 07:12 PM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

I went from 100d to ks2. The k70 has even more.
4x mp, 14bit color, flip screen, wifi, live view, 2 wheels for aperture and shutter. The only downsides are no top screen and losing the extra pleasing ccd sensor colors.
And you can use the 55-300 plm lens.
07-24-2019, 07:19 PM - 1 Like   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

While the K-3ii is an excellent camera, the K-70 is newer and more up to date. You'll be amazed at the amount of upgrade.

07-24-2019, 07:35 PM   #5

Original Poster
Thanks for the responses. i was looking for a k-3ii mostly because i really like having the top screen but i am not familiar with the used markeplaces and im kinda hesitant.
For the k70 im worried from some reviews i've read talking about aperture failures or something like that.
07-24-2019, 08:59 PM - 1 Like   #6
Pentaxian

Aperture failure is real, but not exceptionally common. Other cameras have problems from time to time too. Get the Pentax extended warranty and don’t worry.

The used market here is pretty reliable. A used K3 should also serve you wet.
07-24-2019, 10:16 PM - 2 Likes   #7
Otis Memorial Pentaxian