Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
10-06-2019, 01:44 PM   #1

Pentax and new memory cards

I am no expert, but right now my K-1II will use SD memory cards that have the UHS-I bus interface which means that it has a maximum transfer rate of 104MB/sec as opposed to the standard 25MB/sec.

Sony released a new card with a 312MB/sec that has the UHS-II interface tripling the current rate. That card is downward compatible, but the K-1II would have to be able to process it at the higher rate. What I do not know is if this could be changed with a firmware update?

Because of the wide developments in 360-degree and 3D cameras, drones and 8K videos there is an even faster card, already developed, that uses the UHS-III bus interface which has a 624MB/sec transfer rate.

I am sure that Pentax already knows this, but was curious if this might be updated with firmware.

10-06-2019, 01:50 PM - 1 Like   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by wings Quote
What I do not know is if this could be changed with a firmware update?
No. UHS-II cards have a second set of pins to facilitate the faster speeds. Also, the K-1's actual write speed is around 30Mb/s, so good UHS-I cards will already deliver optimal performance as far as the camera is concerned.

That said, you can certainly use these faster cards and benefit from faster transfer speeds to your PC when inserting them into a compatible reader.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
10-06-2019, 01:51 PM   #3
F/8 & Somewhere
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery