Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-17-2008, 12:13 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Pentax? Sony? Olympus?

Folks, I'm a newbie here but was thinking about making the jump over the Pnetax from Nikon.
While I like Nikon and Canon for that matter, I like the idea of built in image stabilization.
Was looking for some feedback on why Pentax would be the way to go over say an A700 or an E3?
One other reason that is starting to sway me over to Pentax is that there seems to be a wider selection of lenses both OEM and aftermarket over Olympus and Sony.
Thanks!

10-17-2008, 12:50 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by rennwerkes Quote
Folks, I'm a newbie here but was thinking about making the jump over the Pnetax from Nikon.
While I like Nikon and Canon for that matter, I like the idea of built in image stabilization.
Was looking for some feedback on why Pentax would be the way to go over say an A700 or an E3?
One other reason that is starting to sway me over to Pentax is that there seems to be a wider selection of lenses both OEM and aftermarket over Olympus and Sony.
Thanks!
These are all very good cameras that you're comparing, so you're gonna have lots of fun with your choise. You should go to a store and hold all of them, to get an idea what feels good in your hand.
Pentax have more primes, where Olympus and Sony are more zooms.
Oly and Sony have more fps, but if you're new to DSLR, you can likely get by with the 3 fps with the K20.
The Zeiss lenses from Sony are not sealed, and, as I recall, neither are their other lenses so far.

What kind of photography do you plan on doing ?

(I'm on my way out the door, so I'll resume the post at a later time)
10-17-2008, 01:00 AM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
I'm a sucker for anything that's well built and that's another reason why I moved over to Nikon from Canon. I like the weather sealed bodies. But their weather sealed lenses are hit and miss.