Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-20-2008, 10:34 PM   #1

New k200d: Is my body's aperture control broken?

Hi!

I am new to SLR photography and purchased a new Pentax k200d body with the kit lens and a FA 50mm f/1.4 prime. It wasn't until my 50mm came in that I realized that the aperture control on the camera when the lens is in A/Auto did not seem to work. I didn't notice this on my kit lens, but the wide aperture width on the 50mm made it painfully obvious

It would seem that the body has a problem, but it could also be my newness to the camera. Is it the body or just me?

Some specifics:
- When attaching the kit or 50mm lens, the aperture dilates as wide as it will go
- The aperture, just by visually inspecting it, does not seem to shrink no matter what I adjust it to in Manual mode. The body thinks I am adjusting the aperture and will say what it thinks I've adjusted it to, but looking at the lens itself, nothing is happening
- On the 50mm prime, the body recognizes when I moved the aperture ring from A by just reporting the aperture as "F--". When on A, it "lets" me adjust the aperture digitally, but does not really do it.
- I have tried setting the "Using aperture ring" setting in the menu to Prohibited and Permitted. It does not seem to have any effect on the problem I described.

It seems broken to me. A little confirmation would be nice before I send this thing back to Amazon. Thanks!

10-20-2008, 10:51 PM   #2
Damn Brit

Hi there, welcome. Have you tried taking pictures with it? I believe it remains open until you actually take the picture.
10-20-2008, 11:02 PM   #3

Original Poster
Ok, it works and you're right. I just had to look into the lens when the shutter opens. I feel like a dummy, but I'd much rather feel like a dummy and have a working set of equipment
10-20-2008, 11:20 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery