Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-06-2020, 10:45 PM   #16
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Also shooting the KP + 21 as a way of staving off GRIII desire. It's worked so far. But I do have the advantage of having the GR I when I really want something small.

01-07-2020, 07:38 AM   #17

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Original Poster
Good input so far from everyone - really like the feedback from GR III users and expect that may be my end result.

But for now, day 1 started poorly due to figuring out how to pull the camera from my bag quickly but picked up a bit once I started shooting in 30 minutes before work.

Basically, I was stuffing the K3 in the bag too tightly. So I simply lay it in the bag face down and it comes out easily. Once I got started shooting, things fell into place.

I totally agree that it feels a lot more conspicuous shooting an SLR. For example, I was hesitant to take shots on a crowded subway car - though this may be the same using any camera.

Thoughts so far:
1) GR III will be less conspicuous and may enable me to be more confident shooting street. I definitely get shy at times.

2) One-handed shooting would be easier with GR III - BUT I was able to comfortably shoot with the K3 this morning with a bag of pastries in my left hand. The grips on Pentax cameras are simply awesome.

3) When walking around, I will likely use a strap (Peak Hand Strap or Black Rapid) and then will use the bag when I want to be discreet about carrying a camera. I feel a strap of some sort is a must due to the crowds of NYC. One hard bump and I lose a camera, lens or both.

4) I plan to try out the K1 as well - as I am curious how different it will feel from the K3 as part of the exercise. I absolutely love the high ISO performance of the K1.

More to come ....
01-07-2020, 11:31 AM   #18
Pentaxian

You are doing an interesting experiment.