Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-23-2008, 03:55 PM   #1
Inactive Account

K20D function

Hi, guys, and girls. I finally made the leap to digital. Historically I am a "Nikon guy", but the features that were available on the K20 at such a reasonable price, kinda made it a no brain-er. I am just learning the ins and outs, and have a question that I hope someone will be able to help me with. The camera started capturing images in a folder numbered 100 and all files are subsequent numbers. I want to start another folder with a new set of file numbers. I can't find how to do this in the manual. Can someone tell me how to do this. Do I have to name the folder or can I number it.

10-23-2008, 04:33 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Not sure - but you can set it to make a new folder for each day and set your file name first 4 characters eg. I changes mine to CHSW....
10-23-2008, 05:25 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Thanks, I changed the file name, and it automatically changed the folder number. Same with the folder name, it changes the number. All files are then numbered sequentially
10-24-2008, 09:59 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Yepp, Pentax doesn't have "new folder" function, but you can change naming style from "100_PENTX" to "100_MMDD", shoot and change back and it'll make new folder.

But I actually don't care about naming. I've written script with Exiftool that runs every time I insert SD into card-reader and moves photos from SD to my hard drive renaming them by camera's Shutter Count and sorting them by dates.

10-24-2008, 10:57 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Welcome Want....

Can't answer your question, as I don't have a 20D. However, some food for thought: make certain your naming/numbering/filing conventions allows room for growth.

I've gone through a number of file naming conventions, but have finally ended up with:
yyyymmdd-hhmm-IMGxxxx.