Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-27-2020, 03:16 PM - 2 Likes   #16
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Kobayashi.K Quote
I don't see the usefulness of a tilt-shift lens for landscape (not even for architecture) but perhaps it is useful for increasing DOF. I have no experience with that.

My point is that if you are post-processing your photos it is much more practical to do all the corrections in post because also photo's taken with a tilt-shift lens need these corrections (to a lesser extend) unless you are a very experienced user or when you don't see the necessity to perfectly line them out at 0.1 degrees.
It's a personal preference -- some of use don't see the point of having to fix something with post-processing that could be done right in the first place.

With the electronic levels built into a Pentax camera, getting perfectly alignment with a shift lens is easy-peasy -- just level the camera and then shift the lens to get the desired composition. No post-process is needed.

02-27-2020, 03:24 PM - 2 Likes   #17
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I don't see the usefulness of a tilt-shift lens for landscape (not even for architecture) but perhaps it is useful for increasing DOF. I have no experience with that.
I guess it is safe to say that if one's experience has not produced the need, that is adequate reason for not knowing it exists. There are limits to what may be done in PP, particularly from a quality standpoint (merged/stretched pixels from perspective adjustments are lost/munged detail) and it is impossible to create "in-focus" from OOF "in-software".

Steve
02-27-2020, 04:20 PM - 2 Likes   #18
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by photoptimist Quote
It's a personal preference -- some of use don't see the point of having to fix something with post-processing that could be done right in the first place.