Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 17 Likes Search this Thread
05-20-2020, 01:36 PM - 4 Likes   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Jump in to the shallow or deep end?

Greetings. I just joined up because I'm looking to move into the Pentax world. My problem is the typical "which one should I get?" I have the body narrowed down to either the KP or K1 mk2, and my first lens possibly the FA 24-70mm f/2.8ED SDM WR lens. I know the K1 mk2 is going to be the better camera, but is it $1,000+ better? The packages I'm looking at would be the K1 mk2 and lens for $3,081, or the KP, lens, and battery grip for $1,994.

I'm just a hobbyist with no real aspirations of going pro. My primary interest is light painting and the occasional trip to a local drag strip when they run jet cars. So that means I need something that can handle long exposures well with little to no artifacting from sensor heat, and to be able to work with a highly contrasted scene. Right now I'm using a 10+ year old Olympus E-500 with a couple kit lenses, so I know either Pentax would be world's better (heck, my smartphone is better in many ways). I've attached some examples of what I'm focused on. I do some other general shots, but not really into a lot of portraits.

Right now I'm leaning towards the KP body, but I just want to know if I'd be making a huge mistake using it for low light work. Everything I'm reading sounds like there isn't a lot of difference between the two. Notable are the better pixel shift and built in GPS (for Astrotracer out of the box) in the K1, which are an interest to be but I honestly don't know if I'd use them much.