Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 77 Likes Search this Thread
05-21-2020, 06:31 AM - 9 Likes   #1
Pentaxian

What camera functions have you discovered long after buying the camera?

I thought this could be an interesting topic and maybe even prompt some people to explore more of what their cameras can do.

I've been using my K-3 for about five years now but I discovered last week something new in the B&W processing option. I process quite a few images to B&W but have never been entirely happy with the B&W images from the K-3, despite playing with the different options. Well, last week I discovered that a one-notch turn of the front camera dial will magically produce an additional two sliders to modify the highlights and shadows of the image. With them I can produce B&W pictures significantly more to my liking. Writing this, I had a quick look at some of the other jpeg profiles and most of them have the same. Why they are hidden by default is completely beyond me.

I'm sure that people will say "it took you five years to realise that?!?" but I think there must be others out there who have had similar experiences with cameras, as I know this isn't the only time it's happened to me, just the latest instance.

05-21-2020, 06:39 AM - 1 Like   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Geo-referencing my pictures via GPS on my K1. I discovered this last year while traveling in the U.S. and it is possible to know exactly where the picture was taken (latitude and longitude, name of the place, etc). Amazing !

Last edited by RICHARD L.; 05-21-2020 at 07:55 AM.
05-21-2020, 07:19 AM - 5 Likes   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

That my K-1 and K-3 had a video mode;-) Can't think why anyone would want that feature.