Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-28-2020, 11:36 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
K-1 II or KP for astrophotography?

I need to buy a camera for my job and it should really be a full frame sensor. I'm a landscape architect and the guidance for photographic work as part of a landscape and visual impact assessment calls for a full frame sensor at 50mm focal length. I get the difference between that and an image with the same field of view produced by an ASPC sensor, but I defy anyone to explain why it makes any material difference when considering the suitability of a development!

A few years ago I really enjoyed some time with a fairly cheap Canon DSLR (not full frame) mounted on a tracking mount (Astrotrac) and would love to be able to recreate those days. I'm older and more realistic about how much effort I can be bothered to put into aligning mounts and plugging things in, etc. I was reading a review on the Canon EOS ra and it mentioned the K-1 II so I started looking. It seems too good to be true - absolutely remarkable!

However....if I could get away with not using a full frame sensor, would something like the KP plus the GPS module give me similarly high images to the K1 or would the considerable savings come at a cost? My worry is I would always regret not getting the fully tiltable screen and I'm not sure the KP has the same illumination options as the K1. Could anyone enlighten me?

Sorry if these are silly questions but there are only a few sources of information on Pentax, unlike Canon and Nikon. That's fine with me though...i had to have my last Blackberry surgically removed from my fingers a few years ago so I'm good with going down a slightly different route.

Thanks

06-28-2020, 11:56 AM - 1 Like   #2
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
welcome to the forums

you will find friendly members and knowledge here

have you found the forum's comparison tool yet?