Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-29-2020, 02:05 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Fill Flash question

Hi,

New to me, used Pentax DA * 55mm F1.4 lens came in, as usual want to have fun with the new toy. Asked my son to be my model and was trying to shoot wide open at F1.4. It's mid afternoon with harsh sunlight I wanted to have some light on the shadow areas. If I use the built-in flash the shutter speed doesn't go more than 1/180 and even if I reduce the flash output to the minimum the pictures end up all washed out.

My friend who is a Canon shooter suggested using "Fill Flash", what is the equivalent of this in Pentax world?

How do I shoot in these situations wide open?

I am not a Pro, trying to learn new things.

Camera - K-3.

Thanks.

07-29-2020, 02:37 PM - 1 Like   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by suraswami Quote
Hi,

New to me, used Pentax DA * 55mm F1.4 lens came in, as usual want to have fun with the new toy. Asked my son to be my model and was trying to shoot wide open at F1.4. It's mid afternoon with harsh sunlight I wanted to have some light on the shadow areas. If I use the built-in flash the shutter speed doesn't go more than 1/180 and even if I reduce the flash output to the minimum the pictures end up all washed out.

My friend who is a Canon shooter suggested using "Fill Flash", what is the equivalent of this in Pentax world?

How do I shoot in these situations wide open?

I am not a Pro, trying to learn new things.

Camera - K-3.

Thanks.