Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-23-2020, 06:44 AM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
K-new vs KP

Hi Pentaxians, hope you are all doing well and keeping safe.

Over the years have saved up enough gift cards and bonuses (put into a special Pentax account, about $800) to buy the KP, but never did it. Now that the K-new is about to hit, I plan on waiting a bit longer to see what the differences are. Wondering if anyone on forum has some insight on choosing between the 2.

I only have APS-C lenses (a lot of them, I had serious LBA a few years ago) and currently have a beloved K-r and underused K30. I am a casual photographer at best.

A friend suggested getting a good FF-capable lens (or two) instead, but I have so much overlap I see no reason to add any more.

Cheers!

EDIT (added after a lot of responses): the $800 is not the limit, just what I have set aside towards any new Pentax body. That said, yes, I understand that the K-new will be more than the current or future price of a KP.

I have the 15, 21 and 20-40 APS-C limiteds, no F series.

Last edited by madison_wi_gal; 08-23-2020 at 05:21 PM. Reason: added more informaiton
08-23-2020, 06:50 AM - 1 Like   #2
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by madison_wi_gal Quote
. . ., Now that the K-new is about to hit, I plan on waiting a bit longer to see what the differences are. Wondering if anyone on forum has some insight on choosing between the 2.

I only have APS-C lenses (a lot of them, I had serious LBA a few years ago) and currently have a beloved K-r and underused K30. I am a casual photographer at best.

A friend suggested getting a good FF-capable lens (or two) instead, but I have so much overlap I see no reason to add any more.

Cheers
the KP is known

the K new is rumored - no doubt it exists but what it is exactly is what is rumored

as is its release date