Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
09-04-2020, 11:17 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Auto focus issue k100d

I am a total newbie to pentax digital slr's. I just purchased a used k100d..I know its old only 6.1 mp...and I am excited to try it out. I have mounted a pentax dfa 28-105 lens. The af/mf switch i have set to af (several times) but the viewfinder shows 'MF' and the lens will not autofocus. In the menu the focus mode is set to af-s. Am I missing something?

Joe

09-04-2020, 11:46 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Unfortunately that lens will not auto-focus with that camera. The lens has an in-lens AF motor and does not have screw-drive capability. Lens has a KAF3 mount. It should work fine with the K100D, except no auto-focus.

---------- Post added 09-04-20 at 11:47 AM ----------

There are a large number of other lenses that will work though. In fact the majority of Pentax lenses will work. it is only the very newest ones that might have issues.

---------- Post added 09-04-20 at 11:49 AM ----------

Here are the specs for that camera: Pentax K100D - Pentax K-mount DSLRs - Pentax Camera Reviews and Specifications
Check the lens mount section.
09-04-2020, 11:50 AM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks. I have taken several shots using manual focusing and that works fine. So I have to look for a lens with screw-drive focus?

Joe
09-04-2020, 11:51 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I am curious, how did you end up with a very new DFA lens and a 13 year old camera?

---------- Post added 09-04-20 at 11:53 AM ----------

QuoteOriginally posted by jbrennskag Quote
So I have to look for a lens with screw-drive focus?
That is correct. Which is nearly all Pentax lenses. Just avoid those with KAF3 or KAF4 mounts. Anything in the Pentax-F or Pentax-FA series will work. And I think all Pentax-DA lenses will but I'm not 100% on that.

09-04-2020, 11:54 AM   #5
Otis Memorial Pentaxian