Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-06-2008, 10:13 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Ok have camera, time for newby questions!

Now I have my K20D in my hot little hands, I've got a couple of questions. *edit* I'm using a DA 18-250mm lens on it if that makes a difference.

Now I'm not a complete newby, but it's my first DSLR. My last camera was an FZ30 so I understand shutter, aperture, priority settings, white balance etc.

For those who own the K20D and even the K10D or K200D, I'd be interested to know which in-camera settings you find best.

I'm after things like Dynamic Range. Noise reduction, white balance, and anything else you can set through the menu for everyday shooting (to begin with). Obviously once I start having a play in different settings, I'll find what works best for me, but I'd like to get a starting point.

I'll most likely use Tv or Av priority separately for most shots until I get used to the TAv mode, which I haven't had before. What priority mode do most people use?

Also what would be good settings for the "P" or "USER" modes if I was to use it for indoor shots of people, using an external or on-camera flash most of the time? It would be nice to have it as a quick mode I could switch to for those moments when the baby does something cool and I don't want to muck around with priority settings.

Sorry for all the questions, but I don't want to waste time mucking about with settings if someone has already done it successfully and is happy with the results.

Cheers

Last edited by ViS; 11-06-2008 at 10:15 PM. Reason: added type of lens
11-06-2008, 10:30 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums