Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-07-2007, 08:09 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
P-TTL and Subject Blink

I'm new to DLSR photography. I have been using a point and shoot camera for several years and a Pentax P3 with Sunpak Auto 433D prior to that. I've noticed that with my new K100D and AF540FGZ set up, I folks tend to be blinking in flash shots when 540 is in P-TTL mode. I know that P-TTL does pre-flash to set flash power for proper exposure and this is likely the cause. I switched to "Auto" flash mode on the 540 and that seems to have fixed it.
Am I missing something, or is using the 540 (or any similar flash) in Auto mode rather than P-TTL mode a necessity when shooting people shots to avoid subject flash blink?
Thanks for any insights you can give,
SB

03-07-2007, 08:15 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Didn't you get the tape and toothpick accessory kit with the flash? On folks with young eyes you just tape those pesky eyelids to the forehead; on old droopy eyelids, prop them open with a couple of picks.

Get the flash out of their eyes; Google "Strobist".
03-07-2007, 08:31 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by atnbirdie Quote
I'm new to DLSR photography. I have been using a point and shoot camera for several years and a Pentax P3 with Sunpak Auto 433D prior to that. I've noticed that with my new K100D and AF540FGZ set up, I folks tend to be blinking in flash shots when 540 is in P-TTL mode. I know that P-TTL does pre-flash to set flash power for proper exposure and this is likely the cause. I switched to "Auto" flash mode on the 540 and that seems to have fixed it.
Am I missing something, or is using the 540 (or any similar flash) in Auto mode rather than P-TTL mode a necessity when shooting people shots to avoid subject flash blink?
SB
How does this differ from red-eye reduction which is also a preflash of sorts?