Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-04-2020, 10:07 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Looking for info on K7 over K20D

Hello All,
I just scored a Pentax k-7 (used) from an online equipment company (reputable...) Reportedly, it only has a shutter count of 3500+ (body only, but with original packaging...)

I've been shooting Pentax since the 1970's and my current setup is my K-1 and a brand new (two years ago) K-20-D...
All my glass is either SMC manual or late model Pentax "Auto" full frames, a couple of Pentax APS-C lenses, along with a couple of Sigma's and Tamron's thrown in to fill gaps.

So, my question is this... Is there anything in particular, that I need to be mindful of, with the K7, that may be different than my K-20 or K-1...? (Good Bad or Indifferent?)

BTW: So as, not to confuse anyone, I was cruising an on-line used camera seller for a replacement for my old K20D (that came up with a sensor problem...) and this listing popped up for "New - Old Stock", so I jumped at it...
(Especially for the $250 price tag...)
I took delivery, opened the box, put my 18-55 lens on it and took a few pics around the house... Downloaded them and sure enough the pictures came out as 101-K20-001 through 005... (I set up my file system to read "K20" to separate them from my K1 shots in my photo file storage).

I did notice that I can shoot video with the K-7 and not the K20D... but is there many other differences... like maintenance or trouble issues perhaps?

Thanks in advance for any advice .

Cheers,
Bob

11-04-2020, 10:15 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

If you want to confirm your K-7's shutter count, you can upload a JPEG here: Check Camera Shutter Count and Manufacture Date
11-04-2020, 10:28 AM   #3
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

here is the side by side comparison tool set up to compare the two

Pentax K-7 vs. Pentax K200D - Pentax Camera Comparison - PentaxForums.com