Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-10-2008, 04:01 PM   #1
Inactive Account

advise for next step

Hi all, i'm new here and wanted to get some advise.

I guess this is based more on toys on a short list for what a natural progression would be and what the best use of my money is.

I've bought a k20d and been playing aorund with it for 4 months or so. I used to do photography with non-digital slrs so i have a fair idea about aperture settings, iso, shutter speed, and all the other new toys that you get with digitcal camera ie white balance, ev etc (i used to do this sort of thing in a darkroom). i'm no pro, but i can get ok results at the moment.

I'm tossing up between a few options for new bits for my camera.

so far i have the pentax k20d, with a sigma DC 18-200 lens. I got this in favor of a 18-55 lens. i also have a manfrotto 190xdb tripod with a 804rc2 head.

I'm looking at either a flash (metz 58/pentax af540/sigma 530 super), new lenses (fisheye: pentax 10-17/sigma 10-20, or a new zoom lens).

Currently, I use the camera for travel/holiday, events, general sightseeing, portraits for friends.

I guess what i want to know is where i should go? i'm planning on doing more travelling and wondering where people went from their base lenses and other bits in terms of importance?

money isn't really an issue (i can't afford a bigma at this point, but maybe in the next few months). i prefer to use hand hold operation of the camera if at all possible.

also, in terms of the flashes, which is the best for the pentax k20d?

12-05-2008, 07:32 AM   #2

Location: N/E Victoria, Australia, on the mighty Murray River.
Photos: Albums
I got my k20d with a Sigma 17-70mm f2.8-4.5 macro lens. Its got a good wide angle (25.5 equiv)
that pretty good for landscapes and the small zoom (105 equiv) is just nice, its a good little
lens for portraits to. It can also focus down to 20cm for the entire zoom range.