Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 14 Likes Search this Thread
12-29-2020, 01:50 AM - 3 Likes   #1

Pentax's K3 and K30, K5ii and K50 "golden year" - a personal and subjective view

Hello everyone, I'm pretty much new to the forum, except for a few idiot-proof digital queries from a periodic film head, but have been a big fan of Pentax's digital cameras, probably more so than anyone else's, for years.

To begin with, so that people see where my message is coming from, my photography tends to lean towards the artsy and esoteric, film over digital, and flights of fancy over high performance functionality - and I get that that may not be everyone's cup of tea.

However, I think there's points that are worth raising whatever kind of photography you're into, and also as to why Pentax keeps revisiting its K3 concept.

I've been buying digital cameras for twenty years, starting with the Minolta DImage and Sweet Digital cameras way back, which I still rate.

Beyond that though, I've often found digital cameras disappointing, and have stuck with a number of film cameras.

In the first few years of the digital revolution, something interested me a lot - manafacturers such as Canon, Minolta and Pentax seemed to be going to huge lengths to recreate the imprint and image make-up of various or collections of their film cameras, with often quite interesting results. While I found the cameras of the first decade of the 2000s lacking on the resolution, low-light performance and digital noise front, by the end of the decade I thought manafactuters were beginning to make some cameras both with high performance and real character, most of all Pentax.

To me, this process came to a head in about 2012-13. In that year, I think Pentax produced a whole sequence of cameras that were absolutely fantastic - the K3, the K30, the K5ii/iis and the K50.