Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-12-2021, 09:34 PM   #1

Pentax kx and ISD for astro images

I have used the Pentax IST DL years ago on a Celestron C11 with a good tracking mount. I have to say the images from just a 30 to 60 sec exposure gave me great results, I wish I could post some of those images but I have lost the memory card on most all of them.
Now I have a 6 inch refactor that I am going to use a Pentax KX with a marginally good tracking mount. The KX has already given me some fairly nice images, but I have to give the camera and telescope a fair shake and complete setup properly, so tracking will be good. Although I will be shooting a F-6.5 a fairly wide-field for my scope , I should be able to take at least 1min to possibly 2 min or slightly longer exposures.

At this time stacking photos is a learning skill that I am not good at yet. However I am very happy with the Pentax KX or any IST variant as far as taking astrophotography images. And yes it is true what others have posted, a DSLR camera is not as good as a dedicated astronomy camera, made for just that use. However they are very expensive, but getting cheaper because of our friends in China who now make almost everything, everywhere.
I will try to post some of my images results with the KX, on a AR152mm scope. Wish me luck, its cold and raining for the next few days.

01-13-2021, 02:52 AM   #2
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

Welcome, Frank. Good luck with the K-x and scope. I'm looking forward to seeing your results!
01-13-2021, 04:39 AM   #3
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
welcome to the forums

You will find friendly members and a lot of knowledge here

have fun with your photography
01-13-2021, 08:23 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums