Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-17-2008, 10:41 PM   #1
Forum Member

k100d jpeg

Are you guy's happy with the jpeg quality the k100d produces or do you still post process the images? i always tweak the levels and apply a little unsharpmask to my images just to make it a little better co'z they look dull out of the camera or maybe it's my fault i'm still a newbie at using a dslr and also at photography.

sample images:

original photo out of the cam

post processed

11-18-2008, 08:22 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I used to have the k100 but upgraded to the k200 earlier in the year and I've been satisfied for the most part with jpg quality out of the camera. I'll do minimal post processing.

That said my photos are basically snapshots. There is no money being made through my camera and since my photography isn't there to put food on the table I don't want to spend a lot of time jacking with tons of photos. It's for this reason that I don't shoot in RAW.

On the rare occasions that I'll do a family portrait (such as a family portrait for Christmas cards for my sister in law) or portraits of neighbor's kids then I'll shoot RAW and spend more time in PP. For my own family and daily snapshots JPG from the camera is more than fine. Only you know what will satisfy you.
11-18-2008, 08:29 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Hope you don't mind, but I did a small touch up with you pic, For my taste I would crop out most of the left side as those elements are distracting and bring the focus to the two larger flowers. There is also a touch of brightening. I am far from an expert expert and I'm sure others will be able to give better advice.
Attached Images

11-18-2008, 09:53 AM   #4
Forum Member

I'm always a fan of post-processing. In the example you posted, though, it looks like the photo was somewhat underexposed, so you can't really blame the JPEG output as much as the exposure being off.

11-18-2008, 09:54 AM   #5