Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-26-2021, 09:51 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Pentax system

I last used a Pentax camera during the film camera era. Even though I loved Pentax when it transitioned into the digital era I ended up with Nikon, Sony, Fujifilm and Olympus. Now, I feel like buying Pentax again. I currently use Nikon Z 6, Fujifilm XH-1and Sony A7Rll. I am shooting many genres including nature, wildlife (birds and other animals), travel, street, portrait etc as a hobby. However, I am an advanced and experienced Photographer - not a Professional though. Portability is also one of my priorities. I thought of purchasing a "well used" Pentax K 70 for a start. I would like to know the prospects with the Pentax system - particularly K 70. Please enlighten me in this regard.

03-26-2021, 11:01 PM - 1 Like   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If you want to buy a well used camera, I'd recommend picking one from the high-end line, as these are more durable and haven't had any major QC issues. I'd recommend the KP if you want something newer, or the K-3 or K-3 II.
03-27-2021, 01:25 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Welcome to the Pentax Forum!
I have not had any problems with either the K50 or the K70, but both have a reputation for an aperture block failure, and getting a "well used" K70 may be an unnecessary risk. The higher end Pentax models like the KP or K3ii will have better autofocus for your bird photography, but if you're on a budget, a K70 with good lenses will make more of a difference than a better camera with a kit lens.
03-27-2021, 04:26 AM   #4
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

welcome to the forums

you will find friendly members and a lot of knowledge here

some of the threads in this section might be of help

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/58-troubleshooting-beginner-help/49283-u...tml#post471963