Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 20 Likes Search this Thread
04-05-2021, 08:59 AM   #1

Need Advice from Pentaxians

I currently have an old K-5 II and I am no photography expert, I use my camera sparingly. I have two lens and I'm on the verge of getting the new Pentax HD FA85mm F1.4ED SDM, when I get a new body.

I've been itching for a new body for years and almost brought the K-1 Mark II a couple of years ago. I've decided to wait for the latest and greatest which turned out to be this new K3 Mark III. Turns out I'm not excited about the K3 M III as I thought I would be and would rather wait until they put all this new technology in a K-1 which is bound to happen right, but when?

I don't want to wait years for this to happen as my train of thought is to get the best camera possible in the near future and keep it for very, very long time which is why I'd rather just get a Full Frame.

I know there's other forums and nobody knows, but now that they've built and are releasing the APS, the next focus should be???

So get this K3 M III or be patient in hopes they release a new K1 M III in hopefully a year?

04-05-2021, 09:11 AM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
You will eventually want to upgrade the apsc anyway, but if you don't like the K3iii; buy the K1ii now!

Then you will have your FF covered while you wait.

After all:
" I'd rather just get a Full Frame."
04-05-2021, 09:11 AM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
K5 IIs is a fine body (there are more than one or two of us who regret selling).

1) what's your use case (family photos at Xmas, birthdays, Travel photography [like anyone is doing any of that these days], sports etc)
2) what two lenses do you have?
3) what is your typical output media (sharing on internet, printing books, printing large format wall art etc)