Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 119 Likes Search this Thread
05-16-2021, 04:42 AM - 1 Like   #106
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Sandy Hancock Quote
By the way, I just noticed you are from Bucks. I played cricket at Stowe School (as a 16 year old) 40 years ago this month. What a magnificent Capability Brown park that was!

I must scan my negatives from that trip; I have a splendid shot of our team captain making an elegant leg glance toward the folly near the lake....
As a teacher I've been to Stowe for a day and agree with you about how beautiful it is. I had a wander around the grounds and would quite enjoy the chance to do so again, but this time with a camera and a couple of suitable lenses...a 31 and 77 for example! Were you at school there or were you part of a touring party?

I have also lived in Adelaide for a few months...

Perhaps our paths will cross somewhere!

05-16-2021, 05:16 AM - 3 Likes   #107
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Jeff Quote
Were you at school there or were you part of a touring party?
I was fortunate to be a part of the first ever Australian school tour of England. We played in London (Westminster), Kent (Tonbridge, King's), Sussex (Lancing), Cambridgeshire (Leys), Derbyshire (Repton), Leicestershire (Uppingham), Lincolnshire (Stamford) and others I don't remember.

Beyond the cricket matches, we played golf in Tunbridge Wells, checked out Canterbury cathedral, took a day trip to Calais on the Channel hovercraft, visited the Shambles in York, the beach resorts in Brighton and the Viking archeology in Sutton Hoo. Oh yeah - we also had an unusually unrestricted tour of Windsor Castle on you own home patch....