Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-02-2008, 03:51 PM   #1

noobie that could use some advice

i just purchased a pentax k200d and im relatively new to the dslr scene... my mother in law works for pentax in golden colorado. my first questions are about batteries and memory? which are the best batteries to use? NiMH rechargeable? what brand? And memory... sd extreme III, cfII?

also... i will be purchasing a macro that will be used for insect photography for my fly fishing website. any suggestions?? stick with pentax glass or?? and since i will be outside during the majority of shooting, should i purchase a few lens filters for protection?

I also have a question about an image sensor cleaning kit... any suggestions? should i buy the pentax kit? how often do k200d owners that shoot outdoor clean their sensors? and how often does an outdoor k200d user check the dust system?

Last edited by seymourpentax; 12-02-2008 at 03:57 PM.
12-02-2008, 04:04 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Welcome to the forum!

I think I can help with a few of your questions:

For rechargable batteries, and I think a lot of members will agree with me here, go for Sanyo Eneloop batteries. They hold a charge forever and work very well. I have 24 AA's that I use all the time and haven't had problems.

There are a bunch of good macro options out there. For "insect' photography you are probably going to want a mid-tele focal length, I know a lot of people like the Tamron 90mm macro, but there are 50's and even the 35 limited which I have. It's a great lens but if I were concentrating on insects I would want more working distance.

I shoot outdoors all the time, and change lenses a lot, and I've never cleaned my sensors aside from a quick blow from a rocket blower. If you are careful about how and where you change your lenses, I've found the dust reduction measures built into the camera to be plenty sufficient.

Hope this helps some. Happy shooting