Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-02-2008, 07:04 PM   #1

K-m (2000) or the K200D

I am not sure which one to get. Is there a major drawback to the K-m? I am a novice and I am real close to buying myself a new DSLR and have narrowed everything down to Pentax.

So the K200D or the K-m?

12-02-2008, 07:10 PM   #2
Veteran Member

If it's your only camera, I'd go with the K200D. Reasons:
1) Weathersealed (K2000 is not)
2) Same sensor and features as the K2000, only slightly bigger, a bit more rugged

I picked up the K-m (K2000) as a smaller alternative to my K10D, and for use exclusively with my DA Ltds. (small lenses)

Todd
12-02-2008, 08:53 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by gnaztee Quote
I picked up the K-m (K2000) as a smaller alternative to my K10D, and for use exclusively with my DA Ltds. (small lenses)

Todd
So, the K-m uses a specific lense bracket, not the K bracket to fit older lenses?
12-02-2008, 09:46 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by beequick Quote
So, the K-m uses a specific lense bracket, not the K bracket to fit older lenses?
Nope, you misunderstood him.

He is using it mostly for a compact kit, matching to compact lenses.... but as with all pentax bodies, you can use it with all pentax lenses.

12-02-2008, 10:32 PM   #5
Inactive Account

The Km/K2000 is almost identical to the K200D on a tech perspective, and in some ways it's better (faster continuous shooting). The K200D does have one feature I find especially useful is the top LCD. Being able to find out aperture and shutter information without having the rear display light up is awesome, even if that display doesn't have a backlight. The buttons and knobs also just feel a little more substantial in their operation, although that could be just the weather seals that make the difference.
12-02-2008, 11:18 PM   #6
Veteran Member

Can you afford the K200? If yes, then buy that.