Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-03-2008, 09:35 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
New to dSLR's and need advice

I am new to dSLR, but a friend of mine has an older Pentax that I really like. I think it's the k100d but I'm not for sure. What I am for sure about I really liked the photos she took with it and I'm ready to upgrade my Nikon FM 10.

I went to a local camera shop and they have a k100d with a 2 lens kit for $649.

Is that a good deal? I have found the k200d in a 2 lens kit for about the same price, but I would have to pay shipping etc.

Would anyone recommend going used for something like this?

I'm looking to stay in that ballpark $$ wise, but I'm up for any and all suggestions. I've done some research into it, but I figured I'd come to the pros for some real advice. Thanks a million!

J-

12-03-2008, 09:51 AM   #2
Veteran Member

I have the k100d and at $650 it was a good deal when it came out. Now that you can get them for ~$200 used, not so much. I'd suggest the k200d or even the k2000d. Both newer cameras, newer features.
12-03-2008, 09:53 AM   #3

Original Poster
That sounds reasonable...I was looking at the maretplace on here and it seems quite a few folks are selling off k10d's. How would a k10d rate compared to the k200d? Is the k10d a better camera? Just curious...

Thanks again

J-
12-03-2008, 10:02 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
IMHO, the K10D is better, just for the front wheel that I find so useful.
I'm a bit puzzled why someone would get a K200D actually...same sensor..less features than K10D...

12-03-2008, 10:45 AM   #5
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by kenyee Quote
I'm a bit puzzled why someone would get a K200D actually...same sensor..less features than K10D...