Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
12-04-2021, 10:49 PM - 1 Like   #1

K-70 reboot: should I worry?

Last week I got a new K-70 to replace my KS-2 that has a bad LCD. I got years of use from the KS-2 and was very happy with it.

Today shortly after I started shooting, the camera went completely dark, while still in the "on" position. I turned it off and back on, but it didn't come back on. I removed and replaced the battery, and it came back on. I continued and shot 450 frames with no more problems.

Is that a normal thing to happen? It never happened with my KS-2. And should I worry? Should I return it?

12-04-2021, 11:44 PM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Is it new, or just new to you? If new, you have plenty of time to activate the warranty, so give it a few weeks to see if it recurs. If it does, return it immediately.

Is it possible the battery was nearly drained?
12-05-2021, 12:19 AM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Paul the Sunman Quote
Is it new, or just new to you? If new, you have plenty of time to activate the warranty, so give it a few weeks to see if it recurs. If it does, return it immediately.

Is it possible the battery was nearly drained?
It is new-new, via amazon, and the battery was fully charged.
12-05-2021, 12:25 AM - 1 Like   #4
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Crashes do happen from time to time, but if they happen consistently or recurrently, then there could be something wrong with the camera.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
12-05-2021, 03:53 AM - 1 Like   #5
Pentaxian