Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 53 Likes Search this Thread
01-01-2022, 11:16 AM - 1 Like   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Who has a K-1 and a K3 iii? Opinions / use case / advocacy!

I've been sitting here with a K-3 iii in the shopping cart of a merchants virtual store for a couple weeks now. I've been shooting K-1 exclusively since February 2017. I kept all my DA glass when I sold my K-5 IIS. I have plenty of primes, and zooms for both formats from ultra wide to tele. I'm a daily shooter - even packing my K-1 kit on business trips etc. I'm not a paid photographer - but I do sell the occasional print mainly landscapes, some commissioned portraiture, and kid sports ( I've found 6 fps a bit of limit for the K-1 and its the main consideration of acquiring to K-3 iii). I've also been enjoying birds off the front porch and on walks through the Bruce Trail and local conservation areas.

1) After getting a K-3 iii - What portion of your shooting (% time/shots) were made with K-1
2) Do you carry both, or go on excursions with one or other.. if both, what bag are you using?
3) Any regrets?

I can abide the cost, so please refrain from opinions on that aspect, its more a concern of gear collecting dust, or if they both get out in the field how you manage to carry the kit.

Thanks all for your contributions.

01-01-2022, 12:16 PM - 3 Likes   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
I have both. I use the K3iii a lot for birding with the DFA150-450 as well as some general short hikes with a selection of DA lenses. The K1 gets more use for street and architectural photography. I don't get much opportunity for portraiture.

I never carry both.

The major decision to come is which to take on my next overseas trip. I never take the 150-450 with me for those, so that's not an issue. The choice is out of:
  1. K1 + DFA28-105 + DFA* 50 + DFA* 70-200 + (DFA15-30 or DFA 21 Limited);