Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 31 Likes Search this Thread
01-10-2022, 11:28 PM - 1 Like   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Advice Needed: K-70 or K-3 II

Hi Pentaxians.

As an advanced amateur, I am looking to upgrade from my K-5 II to either a K-70 or used K-3 II. I have multiple lenses from vintage lenses to an SMC Pentax-DA 18-270 mm (walk-around lens) to a DA ED AL Limited 15mm.

When not doing family photos, I do mostly landscapes and studio macros. I do non-professional portraits periodically.

Main differences that I wondering whether they make a difference:
--ISO
--Autofocus points (11 on K-70; 27 on K-3 II)
--Processor: Prime M II vs. Prime III in the K-3 II
--Articulating screen on K-70
--Metering sensor: 77 sensor on K-70; 86k pixel on K-3 II: does this make a significant difference?
--Stated shutter life (not specified vs. 200,000 on K-3 II)
--GPS (a nice bell and whistle for the K-3 II, but I'm not sure I really need it--never used GPS on my gear before)
--Top LCD: I like this on my K-5 II; will I miss it on the K-70?
--Dust removal - Sensor shake on K-70 vs ultrasonic for K-3 II

Any thoughts you have would be greatly appreciated!

01-11-2022, 12:43 AM - 2 Likes   #2
Pentaxian

Hi, I can't comment first hand on the K-70, never used one. It seems a fine camera but reliability is lower than on higher-tier bodies, the solenoid failure seems to be a real and widespread issue.
I used to have and love a K-3II, and can really vouch for that body. If you don't miss the onboard flash, there is nothing not to like IMO. My main arguments for getting this body were:
QuoteOriginally posted by mdcall Quote
--GPS (a nice bell and whistle for the K-3 II, but I'm not sure I really need it--never used GPS on my gear before)
--Top LCD: I like this on my K-5 II; will I miss it on the K-70?