Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-13-2008, 12:24 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
help! k20d images are being cropped when converted!!

ok, i have been using my k20d for a few months now but only recently started using RAW+

what i noticed tonight when compiling images from a shoot with raws and jpegs together, is that my jpegs have about 10 pixels width missing from each side.

Where have these pixels gone? what is my camera doing with this 10 pixel row? I am worried that they are getting stuck in the shutter and that they will eventually clog up the camera, which i would certainly not be happy about. Worse still, they could be leaking right out, which means there could be a problem with my cameras weather sealing (?), which would be worrying since i have been shooting in a lot of rainy conditions lately.

Please help!

12-13-2008, 12:49 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by IsaacEastgate Quote
ok, i have been using my k20d for a few months now but only recently started using RAW+

what i noticed tonight when compiling images from a shoot with raws and jpegs together, is that my jpegs have about 10 pixels width missing from each side.

Where have these pixels gone?
A correct size should be 4672 x 3104.

You have probably a raw converter that doesn't support the K20D correctly. I remember seeing these "extrapixels" when Picasa was not officialy supporting the K20D. I think there is a good technical explanation as to why these pixels are not included in the final picture but I am too lazy to find the link.

Anyway I wouldn't worry for 10 tiny pixels!
12-13-2008, 01:16 PM   #3
Moderator PEG Judges

I'd save 'em all up in a big bucket in case you need 'em one day
12-13-2008, 03:20 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Manuh, no! it is when the camera itself converts an image after taking it it gets rid of the edges! I will check the actual image sizes.