Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-16-2008, 07:44 AM   #1
Forum Member

Camera in the cold

I'm taking my new K200D and its lenses with me to Afghanistan for work for two weeks in January. Its going to be cold. Very, very cold, but on the plus side, very very dry too. What considerations do I need to take when:
1. I'm using my camera inside and outside (condensation, freezing, etc)?
2. Battery life and storage?
3. There will be some more extreme conditons potientally encountered (meant in terms of weather), what else should I be worrying about?

My film SLR never had any problems, but I used it on the heated plains of Africa, this is my first time going cold with an SLR, and first trip ever with my DSLR, so any advice will be handy.

Thanks,
Oren

12-16-2008, 07:50 AM   #2
Syb
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Be careful. In Afghanistan they have a different view on shooting.

They mean shooting with bullets. Instead of pictures. That's what I know about Afghanistan.
12-16-2008, 07:54 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Take a look at this thread: https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-dslr-discussion/43930-pentax-k10d-space-ii.html

Keep your battery warm is all I'd recommend. If you don't have a weather sealed lens, well the first time that K10D went into space it was using the kit 18-55mm and it came back down unharmed. If condensation is a problem, try to find an intermediate (not cold/not humind & warm) space you can warm the camera up with. Inside one's coat works surprisingly well.

Post pics from your trip when you get back!
12-16-2008, 08:45 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The primary things to worry about in general are the batteries, (keep extras inside your clothing, close to your body.) A grip with some in there may be helpful, (probably nice when wearing gloves, anyway)