Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-16-2008, 06:58 PM   #1
Veteran Member

K20 screen preview problem?

Hello folks,

Has anyone noticed this issue. I am fairly new to the K20D but this can't be normal.

When I preview photos, on the K20D LCD screen, any bright white regions flash rapidly as per the example I uploaded.

Hopefully an animated gif (nope-it converts it to jpg) displays in this forum. Okay, I uploaded a wmv, in order to approximate the effect I see on my screen, play this wmv in a video viewer with continuous looping.

What is going on? This is terribly annoying.

Your comments are appreciated.

Attached Files
File Type: wmv flashing bright spots.wmv (66.4 KB, 196 views)
12-16-2008, 07:48 PM   #2
Veteran Member

This is flashing to show over/under exposure, I personally like it, but if it bothers you, it can be disabled in the menus, I'm not sure exactly how on the k20d, but it is possible.
12-16-2008, 07:53 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by nixcamic Quote
This is flashing to show over/under exposure, I personally like it, but if it bothers you, it can be disabled in the menus, I'm not sure exactly how on the k20d, but it is possible.
If that its purpose, it certainly doesn't work because the flashing occurs on any bright-white spot or area. The example wasn't a good one because its a terrible photo.

Anyhow, it good to know its by design and I can turn it off.
12-16-2008, 07:56 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
It's a feature
Go into Menu > Playback > Playback display
Hit right on the 4-way selector, then make sure Bright/Dark area is unchecked.
Do the same for Instant Review and Digital Preview.
Then enjoy your K20!

(I turned it off too)

Last edited by farfisa; 12-16-2008 at 08:06 PM.
12-17-2008, 06:13 AM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by pentaxmz Quote