Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-29-2022, 09:26 AM   #1
Veteran Member

simple astro-photography question

How do you frame your image at night?

I ask becuase I've never done astro before, and as I was on a road trip last week to some beautiful country, I figured I'd give it a try. I setup at dusk and waited an hour or so for the light to die down, and tried a bunch of photos with my preframed shot. But I noticed that (I didn't realize) the direction I was shooting was also the diretion of the nearby town, so there was a lot more visible stars in any other direction. When I tried a different direction, it was impossible to get a good idea of the framing optically, I tried live mode, but it didn't seem to work much better. Are there any tricks to this, or is it one shot per night, that you frame up before the light goes?

05-29-2022, 10:04 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
This is something that requires a fair bit of pre-planning if you are wanting something specific, like a constellation or the Milkyway core. There are charts online like https://www.lightpollutionmap.info that can let you know where the best low light locations are and also an idea of what directions to look to avoid "light domes" from cities.

Photo Pills is a good phone app to check things like moon phases and Milkyway core locations, including an AR mode to give you an idea of what to expect and where to set up. Want to capture the moon through a natural rock arch formation? Photo Pills can help you determine the precise location to set up, the date of whatever moon phase you want, and the time it'll be visible through the arch.

And then, of course, your subject matter. If you wanted a specific object in your shot, with a sky object in the background, but you had a light dome interfering, then you would use the above tips to plan again, but shooting from a different position so you can avoid the dome.