11-20-2022, 10:47 PM   #16
Veteran Member

It's somewhat like your car's Mileage

11-21-2022, 01:37 AM   #17
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by skid2964 Quote
Some people care about shutter click count; they post how many "clicks" their camera has, etc.

I'm a professional real estate photographer and have done about 12,000 photoshoots since 2009, cycling out camera bodies after about 100,000 clicks.
Last year, I decided to keep using my latest camera with a backup body and lens in my camera case.

This week, it completely failed; shutter count? 318,231 I wasn't even bothered by it since it lasted so long.
I grabbed my backup with about 135,000 clicks on it and kept going.

Both are K50s using a Sigma 10-20mm lens.
The lens I was using probably has around a million clicks on it!
Just the opposite: my *istD failed two years ago. I bought it within a few months of its introduction in the US. It got moderate use for a couple of years, mostly on a FA* 600/f4 and F* 300/4.5 in the field. Nowhere near 100k clicks.

The failure was confusing: it works fine, for one shot, or maybe two, after a *very* slow start-up. After that slow start-up and one or two shots the batteries are drained completely, according to the battery display, and nothing happens unless I switch to a new set of AAs, when the whole mess starts over again.

I've replaced the button cell battery twice, and used several brands and grades of AA batteries, to no avail.

This week I checked on Ricoh Authorized Repair, which apparently is only one source in CT for the whole of the US. The minimum charge for most any repair approaches $400 and more, so it would be cheaper to buy a new body (and get more modern AF, etc) .