Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 14 Likes Search this Thread
12-11-2022, 06:34 PM   #1

Should I expect the histogram to look like this?

Hi, I am a beginner learning all about histograms. As an experiment, I took a photo of a gray card, pretty much filling the frame, and I got the histogram attached. I am surprised that the spike is so far to the left, but should I be? Is that the way my camera is designed to work? I would have thought that the meter would put the average value closer to the middle. (If I understand correctly, IrfanView is telling me that the midpoint of the spike is around 82 on a scale from 0 to 255.)

I am using a *ist DS2, FA 50 f/1.4 lens (also tried manual A lens, not much difference). Set ISO to 200, white balance to Daylight. Aperture at f/1.4, Av mode. Center-weighted metering. Had camera on MF, manual focusing.

If this is unusual, maybe it's because I'm using a KatzEye focusing screen (not Optibrite).

So, basically, I am wondering whether my camera is metering as intended. Is it normal for a DSLR (or a Pentax DSLR) to meter in such a way that this is the histogram that results, in these circumstances? I realize that this is kind of an elementary question. I did do a search, but I wasn't able to find an answer, so thanks in advance!

Mark

Attached Images

12-11-2022, 06:50 PM - 2 Likes   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

With an 18% grey card, it will come in a bit below the midpoint (I would expect around 111-127), assuming the light source illuminating the card is daylight (eg sunshine, 5000K).

If you have a different light source, it's spectra will be different. eg it's probably a "warmer" color light source, giving you higher red values.

It also depends on whether the camera is set to AdobeRGB or sRGB (web) color space.