Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-27-2008, 12:24 PM   #1

Why should I upgrade from *ist DL?

I have an *ist DL and am learning photography. Tell me why I should, or why you did, upgrade to one of the newer models.

12-27-2008, 01:37 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Short and simple: If you feel encumbered by the limits of the DL, then you should consider upgrading to something else.
I upgraded to the K20D from my K100D due to larger demands (except image quality, in fact). It took me nine months, but could have stayed with the K100D. I am still learning (isn't everybody?), but got through the basics with my K100D. Use your DL as long as you want, but I don't think you should upgrade before you have a clear understanding of the technical aspect of the camera.

When I bought my K20D, my reasons were:
* The K100D is menu-based, few dedicated buttons
* Only one control wheel
* It is a bit slow in JPEG
* It is SLOOOW in RAW

Note that I don't automagically get better results with the new camera, but I felt a bit handicapped with the K100D in my hand. Nothing wrong with it though, so I gave it to my girlfriend, as she is eager to learn.

(I have not used a *ist DL myself, but I consider it the forefather of the K100D, without SR.)
12-27-2008, 01:57 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If your camera is working ok and you are happy with the results you are getting, keep what you have. There will always be a new camera body to upgrade to. Maybe invest your money in some lenses.
12-27-2008, 03:14 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Shake Reduction is a nice thing, but generally -- if you don't know why you need to upgrade, you don't need to upgrade.

12-29-2008, 11:03 AM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Music Quote
I have an *ist DL and am learning photography. Tell me why I should, or why you did, upgrade to one of the newer models.