Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-30-2008, 12:47 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Tips on how to inspect K200D please!

Hi there,

This is my first post on PentaxForums and was hoping I could get some valuable insight from some of the members of this site.

I'm interested in purchasing a K200D and have read/watched every single review on it in existence. The camera just feels right in my hands, takes great pics, is easy to use (i'm a complete novice here) and I couldn't care enough about live view... the list goes on. I don't have to tell you guys!

Anyhow, I found a "brand new in box" k200d on craigslist and am considering buying it as I've negotiated it down to around $150 less than retail (comes with the 18-55mm kit lens too). I just want to know what I need to look for to make sure i'm not getting ripped off. I know that the boxes don't come sealed in plastic, so it's possible that it could have been tampered with or defective.

If there's anything I should look for or anything inside the packaging that will act as a red flag will be much appreciated.

Also, please don't bother posting anything like "just buy retail" because as you know, we're in an economic downturn and I'm counting beans here!

Thanks and I look forward to you advice.

12-30-2008, 04:03 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
I suppose there are any number of things that *could* be wrong with it, but given that you'll never be able to do a *completely* exhaustive test, I'd start with the most obvious, most likely to be defective, easiest to check for things:

- With camera turned on, press every button to verify that it physically works and has the expected effect. Tough if you don't know what's supposed to happen, but for the most part, something will be displayed in the viewfinder or LCD in response to any button push.