Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-07-2009, 12:55 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
HDR (High Dynamic Range)

Have any of you all wise pentaxians done much with HDR? Any insights from a picture taking or picture processing view, including tools used?

A couple links...

High dynamic range imaging - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

HDR photo software & plugin - Tone Mapping, Exposure Blending & HDR Imaging for photography

01-07-2009, 01:12 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Bracket 5 shots at 1 stop apart. Merge them w/ the free version of Photomatix. It's pretty simple...
01-07-2009, 01:29 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Well I'm just a beginner and all that, but have done almost all my landscape shots with HDR technique just to prevent the highlight burnouts without a cokin type system. I do use Photomatix Pro 3 software for combining the exposures. Here a short checklist which I have found useful:

-Heavy duty tripod
-Remote launcher
-camera set to full manual mode (automatic programs **** up the apertures when bracketing)
-Bracketing of at least 5 photos with 1 EV steps (3 exposures with 2EV steps ens up with lots of noise usually) which means that with K200D I have to dial in shutter multiples manually in very rapid fashion to catch the moment succesfully
-multisegment metering is very very useful as the starting point for bracketing (0, -, +) although you can use spot and figure out a useful average exposure
-RAW files can be stuffed into photomatix directly (if you want to convert to TIFF or JPG go ahead, but do not adjust curves in individual images)
-alignment is usually not needed in Photomatix with good quality tripod
-Photomatix CA removal setting works wonders if there is need to do such thing
-Photomatix noise removal is pretty aggressive so better do this later with photoshop etc.

How to get juicy results with Details Enhancer method:

-Strength 80+