Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-14-2009, 06:20 PM   #1
Veteran Member

What's goin on here? HELP!

Hello everyone. I've been getting into (off camera) lighting more using flashes. So I eventually got some cactus v2 radio triggers because they are cheap and that works fine with me. They work good for my use, but they are cheap, no doubt.

My problem is that when I trigger a flash using cactus v2, if my shutter speed is too high, it has this weird black area at the bottom of my frame. Here are two shots, one pretty blown out, and one a slightly better. These were taken with Pentax AF-360 flash in one hand, camera in the other, all pointed to the same spot. Shutter speed is 1/180 which is the X-Sync.

This problem happens ONLY when I use the wireless radio triggers. The next two pictures are same shutter speed, same aperture. The first is the flash mounted onto camera. Second is the pop-up flash.

Now I'm fairly new to all this flash, lighting (all dslr) stuff so maybe I just missed something pretty elementary. I do tend to panic when something "different" happens.

But what's goin on here? I've used different lenses as well as different lighting setups. Still get that weird almost shadow like appearance at the bottom. Has anyone had this problem. Did I completely miss a switch on the camera? The latter would be best. Anyways, any help is appreciated.

01-14-2009, 06:22 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
You have to slow your shutter speed down. The wireless signal is just not fast enough on these V2s. The black is the shutter closing.
01-14-2009, 06:26 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
what you see is that the shutter has begun to close before the wireless flases have triggered,

you say that you use the same shutter speed for both on and off camera,, what is it?

Also, are you doing trailing curtain sync, which needs to be slower to allow for correct exposure.
01-14-2009, 07:49 PM   #4