Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-18-2009, 09:20 PM   #1

K10D Auto focus died

Before I send email and camera off to Pentax, has anyone else on here had the autofocus die?
I was taking some photos as I was leaving Fort Lauderdale last weekend when suddenly the camera would not autofocus. I was using my Sigma 18-200 at the time and thought perhaps the lens motor had given out. Tried my 18-55, 28-105, 80-320 all with the same result.

As I am an old school photographer, lack of autofocus doesn't bother me too much, but it made it difficult when my wife wanted to use the camera. The only thing I can spot on the body is that one of the contacts on the mount seems to be depressed. It is the third from the left when looking at the body with the lens removed. Not having studied this area all that much before I am not sure if that is normal or not.

Any thoughts?

Oh and yes, the AF-S / AF-C / MF switch is in the AF position when it will not autofocus.

01-18-2009, 10:02 PM   #2

that depressed pin is normal, so it must be something else.
01-18-2009, 10:13 PM   #3
Veteran Member

This is a last ditch effort, but have you tried to reset to factory defaults?
01-18-2009, 10:49 PM   #4

Original Poster
Yes, I tried doing reset and so far nothing. I will download the firmware tomorrow and install it again as well.

01-19-2009, 05:12 AM   #5

Original Poster
Well reloaded the 1.30 firmware and still the same thing. Not looking good, so I guess it will be off to the repair centre.
01-19-2009, 11:01 AM   #6
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by gmcotton Quote
Well reloaded the 1.30 firmware and still the same thing. Not looking good, so I guess it will be off to the repair centre.
Have you tried cleaning the contacts with isopropyl alcohol and a micro fiber cloth? Does the problem happen with only one lens?
01-19-2009, 11:58 AM   #7

Original Poster