Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-18-2009, 11:39 PM   #1

What settings for this assignment?

I'm completely new to DSLR and have just bought a K200D. I only have the kit lens (Sigma 18-50) and secondhand Pentax FA 70-200.

i have been asked to take photos of a friend who is competing in the New Zealand Coast To Coast Multisport triathlon in a few weeks. This is a 2 day, 250Km event that crosses New Zealand's South Island - West To East across very rugged mountains, rivers, valleys. The competitors run, cycle and kayak.

My friend will probably only ever do this event once and she wants a good photographic record of her efforts.

I wonder if anyone here could suggest some settings for the K200D that will increase my chances of getting some good shots for her. I know I'm not going to have time to learn much about the camera beforehand.

The shots will be of people running, cycling and kayaking in a mountainous scene with lots of green bush and forest. There is a high chance of early morning mist and maybe rain.

Because I'm new to this, and because of the nature of the event, I don't think I'm going to have much time to fiddle with changing settings a lot.

As well as settings for a newbie, what would you experienced guys use for this assignment?

01-19-2009, 06:23 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

I'd use shutter preferred automatic or manual, you should use programmed automatic. biased to shutter speed if your camera will allow it.
01-19-2009, 06:34 AM   #3
Pentaxian
Moderator Emeritus

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Man this is a tough request. I agree with Wheatfield but you need practice. it's that simple. If you have a horse racing track near home. Go shooting for a couple of hours and see how you do. If not car traffic on a street will help.