Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-19-2009, 08:32 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Is this lens faulty ? Or is it my expectations ?

I have just purchased a K20D with the 16-45mm & an FA 1.4 50mm. I'm unhappy with the IQ of the 16-45, and since this is my first DSLR & I'm a novice I could do with some help from you kind folks in identifying whether I need to send the lens for service. I read the reviews of the lens & the review in Dpreview & was expecting sharp images. I can't get a sharp image to save my life. I've adjusted the exposure bias using charts downloaded from this site - and it was a bit front focused - I adjusted it with a compensation of -2. Here's some images:

First the image that set me wondering whether the lens was faulty - its from a PS Canon A620 at f4:

Next a shot with the FA at f4

And then the 16-45 at f4 & f8

I can't get the quality of the 16-45 to match even the Canon shot - which is at a much lower resolution. The Lens seems soft overall tho F8 IS a bit better.

Do I need to send it back ? Or am I expecting too much ?

Attached Images

01-19-2009, 08:59 AM   #2
Veteran Member

first, your canon shot at F4 is not even close to being equivalent to an SLR being shot at F4. i dont want to bother doing the math but i think if you were to shoot with your slr you would need to set it to F32 or something to compare to F4 on a point and shoot (there is a formula online if you want 100% accuracy)

second, how are you shooting your SLR, are you using RAW or JPEG. If shooting RAW, how are you processing your pictures. If shooting jpeg, what quality of jpeg are shooting at, and how did you set the in-camera jpeg processing?

third, which mode are you shooting in, and what is the ISO?

fourth, are you using a tripod?

fifth, in the future, try not to strip exif info (or use an uploaded that doesnt strip it), can you post up the shutter speeds of all the shots?

thank you.
01-19-2009, 09:33 AM   #3
Banned