Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-23-2007, 09:36 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Hyperfocal distance

I am struggling with how to determine the distance to the optimum focal distance. Let's say I am shooting with the 43 LTD at f5.6. The hyperfocal distance is 53.8 feet. That will give me an in focus photo from 27 feet to infinity which is what I want. Other than pacing off the 54 feet, how do you determine what is that distance away from you? I've thought of using range finder binoculars but those suckers are about $200. How do you determine the distance? Thanks for any ideas. Just trying to learn a little more.

Regards,

03-23-2007, 09:54 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hi Ken, I haven't done this in a very long time, but you can train your eye to measure this to a fair degree of accuracy. Back so long ago it seems like a previous incarnation, I was a surveyor. The crew chief I was attached to would set us a series of exercises to improve our eye. First he would measure off 25, 37.5 and 50 feet and flag them with marked flags, and have us look at them. Then he would remove one and make us tell him which one. Then he would have us direct him in replacing it. When we could properly locate the flags within 3-4 feet of where they should be fairly consistantly he did the same for 62.5 to 87.5 feet and then 100 to 125 feet. By the end of three weeks I was pretty good a judging distances up to about 150 feet. Not quite theodolite accuracy, but good enough for plane table mapping. I'd suggest marking off a course and practice looking at how it appears at known measured distances. It may take a while but once your eye is "in" it will stay that way if you continue to use it.
Of course if your lens has range markings on it you can open the aperture select a somewhat distant subject, focus and read the markings on your lens.

NaCl(your eye can be calibrated)H2O
03-23-2007, 10:18 AM   #3