Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-23-2007, 12:11 PM   #1

Shooting a wedding (need advice)

So basicly, my sisters friend came to me and asked if I could shoot her wedding for her. Of course I said yes and will not charge. I need to get a portfolio going so this will be a good step towards that. (Note to Self) "What was I thinking". Anyway, I am pretty new to potography and would like to know what all I need to have a successfull shoot.The only thing I have is my K10d, Kit lens and tripod. I know I need alot more. Can I get away with only one camera? So any info would help me alot. I have until june to get ready.

Thanks, Scott

03-23-2007, 12:42 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I've done a few weddings. They're not my favorite, but it wasn't hard for me, since I have a few years background in news photography, so the pressure that comes with having only one shot to get it right wasn't there.

You can do it with one camera. I would think it's more of a memory card issue when it comes to digital photography. I had two when I did a few weddings, but that was with 35mm and I needed to have insurance in case the film ran out at a key moment! (and if that happens with a memory card, you can replace it much quicker than you can a 35mm film canister I guarantee, because you won't have to wait for the entire thing to wind back up!

From my limited experience, a few things come to mind:
- you're probably only going to have time to use the tripod for the "group" pictures, and maybe if you set up the tripod at a good angle to where the bride and groom will be when reciting their vows/"the kiss"

- go to the rehearsal the night before, scope the place out before the big show. It's best to have the angles you want in mind before you get there - afterwards you may think later "gee I want to scoot over there and get that shot..."

- shoot RAW. You'll want every bit of data intact, just as a failsafe.