Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-25-2007, 01:44 PM   #1

K100D wireless flash

I'm brand new to DSLRs -- I've owned my K100D for two days -- and brand new to flash period. I barely even know what "TTL" means! My SLR experience is ancient history, with all-manual everything on a Nikon F, and frankly I never figured that out worth a damn. One nice thing about the K100D DSLR is I won't be wasting entire rolls of film trying to get it approximately right.

So where do I start?

My two questions are, one, where's a good place to learn, that's hopefully not too technical, and geared at a person like me who starts to cry after thinking about guide numbers and stuff too long, and two, what are my options besides the built-in flash?

I know I can get a Pentax AF-360FGZ or AF-540FGZ and get great results off the hot shoe. I also understand that my flip-up will NOT work as a master to fire either of those units (or any other) as a slave. Is there a wireless master adapter that will fit my hot shoe and fire a 360 or 540 as a slave, and still work as P-TTL? What about a wired connection? I see a bewildering array of Pentax accessories, but I don't know which ones work, or how to connect them.

As far as I can tell, my options are:
  1. flip-up flash
  2. AF-360FGZ or AF-540FGZ on the hot shoe
  3. 360 or 540 on the shoe driving a second 360/540 as a wireless slave
  4. Wireless gizmo on the shoe driving a 360 or 540 as a slave? Is this possible? What part number? Is the advantage of getting the flash off the shoe and away from the camera worth the trouble? Am I an idiot?
  5. Wired gizmo ditto?

Help is much appreciated.

03-25-2007, 01:54 PM   #2
Ed in GA

"So where do I start? "

This would be a good place
Strobist: Welcome to Strobist.

For wireless on the K100D You'll need either two of the 360s or 540s.

Or, one of each.

There may be a wireless gizmo available but I'm not sure what it would be.