Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-10-2009, 01:16 AM   #1

Strange noise coming from the K2000

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the world of DSLRs, and I just got my pentax K2000 (or K-M). I'm noticing a strange noise, however, and I was hoping someone would be able to either tell me I'm crazy, or let me know if I should send it in for service . After taking a picture and hearing the mirror drop back down there is a soft static-y noise that lasts until the picture is displayed for review. It sounds almost like the "cranking" of a harddrive but what worries me is that it is writing to an sd card. Is this a normal noise that other K2000 users have noticed, or do I need to send mine in for service?

Thanks for the help.

02-10-2009, 02:32 AM   #2

Photos: Gallery
Try a few things first

QuoteOriginally posted by pentaxNasson Quote
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the world of DSLRs, and I just got my pentax K2000 (or K-M). I'm noticing a strange noise, however, and I was hoping someone would be able to either tell me I'm crazy, or let me know if I should send it in for service . After taking a picture and hearing the mirror drop back down there is a soft static-y noise that lasts until the picture is displayed for review. It sounds almost like the "cranking" of a harddrive but what worries me is that it is writing to an sd card. Is this a normal noise that other K2000 users have noticed, or do I need to send mine in for service?

Thanks for the help.
Does not sound right, and I have the K2000 too.

1. I notice mine takes a while to write to the card when I use some of the digital filters. Try defaulting the settings (last menu I think) and seeing what that does.

2. Perhaps try another card before you send it in.

3. It isn't possible you don't have the lens attached properly? (sounds crazy I know)

cheers
02-10-2009, 03:02 AM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks Stefan,