Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-25-2009, 01:06 PM   #1
Veteran Member

New k20d owner with low ISO noise issue

Hi. I am new to this forum and new to my k20d.

I recently purchased a k20d, along with a DA* 16-50 lens. I have done quite a bit of photo restoration over the last couple of years and I have observed with high end telescopes for 15-20 years, so I have a basic knowledge of photography and optics, but I am new to DSLRs.

I like the overall feel of the k20d. A good friend of mine has a Nikon D300 and I have been borrowing it the last few days, with a 17-55 f/2.8 lens, and making comparisons, though I recognize the comparison is not completely fair given the substantial price difference. The D300 has certain ergonomic advantages, as well, but overall I like the handling of the k20d.

My biggest concern , though, is that I have been finding noise show up regularly at 100 and 200 ISO, shooting in my home taking shots of my wife and children. A few outdoor shots of shadow areas produces some noise at the same low ISOs, though a bit less so. I have been using flash (on board flash; I am thinking of getting the Pentax 540 flash) and also some non-flash. The noise shows up in flash pictures in shadow/dark areas: like a portion of the couch that is not well lit or portions of the room that may not be as well lit or were not brightened by the flash. I have tried to be reasonable in my “pixel peeping” and realize I am looking for noise, but it is rather obvious in portions of pictures. This does not show up with the Nikon D300.