Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-27-2009, 05:06 PM   #1

Help with old flash on K20D

I have an old Pentax AF200S flash that came with a ME Super. I googled it, found out this flash will work with K20D, but no P-TTL or TTL. What does "No P-TTL" mean? Does that mean the flash will always at full power, no appropriate sensitivity to different ISO and Aperture setting on the camera? thanx

02-27-2009, 05:08 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by winglik Quote
I have an old Pentax AF200S flash that came with a ME Super. I googled it, found out this flash will work with K20D, but no P-TTL or TTL. What does "No P-TTL" mean? Does that mean the flash will always at full power, no appropriate sensitivity to different ISO and Aperture setting on the camera? thanx
Yes, I think you've got it. I'm no expert though, so hopefully someone else will chime in.

Also, there's a Pentax Strobist group on Flickr. They should have some good practical advice on using it, and it comes with examples.
02-27-2009, 05:44 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If the flash has an Auto mode, give that a try. See if you can find the manual for it ( or see if Pentax has it on their site for download ) and read up on it, if it has auto mode, it'll make it a lot easier to use once you learn the basics of it.

Edit: found the manual on the Pentax site, scroll down, and download it, seems it does have an auto mode, so you should be in business !!

http://www.pentaximaging.com/support/manuals-and-literature/

Last edited by Stratman; 02-27-2009 at 05:50 PM.
02-27-2009, 05:58 PM   #4
Pentaxian

QuoteQuote:
What does "No P-TTL" mean?
It means just that, no P-TTL. In P-TTL mode, the flash fires a weak preflash strobe. The camera will receive the light reflected and then calculate how much light needed. The camera then take control of the flash.