Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-05-2009, 03:16 PM   #1

Vivtar 550FD Auto Thyristor with K20D

Hey all--

I have never used a flash before, with any camera, but recently got a Vivtar 550FD for free with some other stuff on eBay. It seems like a good flash, with a TTL mode, and it is indeed the M/P/O version, designed to work with the Pentax cameras of its day.

It fires on the K20D and didn't fry anything, so that's good. But could anyone give me a little primer on how to use it with my camera?

It's exactly like this one, except says M/P/O instead of C/R:

03-05-2009, 03:34 PM   #2

Original Poster
BTW, it's putting out 5.7 volts, according to my multimeter.
03-05-2009, 03:44 PM   #3

For the auto, I believe you just dial in your iso, and match your aperture to what either auto setting tells you. One of the auto modes should give more reach, but will require larger apertures and may blow out close subjects (as the range it lists will show). The other auto will allow smaller apertures, but won't give you the reach. I don't know off hand the max allowable shutter speed for your camera.
03-05-2009, 05:17 PM   #4

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by unkabin Quote
For the auto, I believe you just dial in your iso, and match your aperture to what either auto setting tells you. One of the auto modes should give more reach, but will require larger apertures and may blow out close subjects (as the range it lists will show). The other auto will allow smaller apertures, but won't give you the reach. I don't know off hand the max allowable shutter speed for your camera.
I don't know either, offhand. In any event, the aperture setting is dictated by distance from the subject? When I say I'm a newb at this I mean that I really understand nothing...

03-05-2009, 06:22 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by mabelsound Quote